John Duncan – Soft Eyes LP

19,99 (Outside EU: 15,99)

Spoken word and electronica from John Duncan ‎via iDEAL Recordings (album sampler from digital source, 1 min from each song)


Availability: In stock

Artist: John Duncan
Title: Soft Eyes
Format: Vinyl 12″

Label: iDEAL recordings
Cat nr: iDEAL210
Genre: Experimental electronica/Spoken word


A1 The Rabid Position
A2 Say No
A3 The Decrepit Decision
A4 Arid
A4 Homecoming
B1 Foreplay
B2 Frenzy
B3 Soft Eyes
B4 Resolve
B5 Reminiscence
B6 The Beautiful Attempt
  • Recorded At – Pieve Del Pino
  • Mixed At – Pieve Del Pino
  • Recorded At – ShortStraw Studio
  • Mixed At – ShortStraw Studio
  • Mastered At – ShortStraw Studio
  • Artwork – Gary Jo Gardenhire
  • Bass – Ivan Pjevcevic (tracks: A1, A3, B1)
  • Design – Philip Marshall
  • Mastered By – Ivan Pjevcevic
  • Percussion – Francesco Cossu (tracks: A1 to A5, B3)
  • Vocals, Lyrics By, Mixed By – John Duncan
Limited edition of 300 copies.

Quietly stunning, sensitive songcraft by boundary-pushing avant gardist John Duncan on a starkly haunting and timelessly beautiful new album of observations on society and intimacy, featuring Eiko Ishibashi, Stefano Pilia and friends, and highly recommended if yr feeling Scott Walker, Keiji Haino, Jandek, Tom Waits, Mark Lanegan, David Thomas & Two Pale Boys.

In pursuit of the haunted muse that’s informed Duncan’s boundary-pushing work since the late ‘70s, and which has lit up the iDEAL catalogue over the past half decade, ’Soft Eyes’ renders Duncan’s oblique reading of the psychic zeitgeist in subtly contrasting sides of furtively rhythm-driven and richly atmospheric songcraft. In keeping with his reputation as a sort of avant garde shaman or psychopomp, there’s something unfathomably timeless and ineffably eternal about his work on ’Soft Eyes’, which follows the course of his modern classics such as the songbook of wizened covers ‘Bitter Earth’ (2016), and last year’s ‘Red Sky’ 2CD, without feeling like he’s retreading old ground, and still sounding vitally unusual.

The record’s first half centres on Duncan’s thoughts on social energy and failure, from crowds to tribal gatherings, in a low-key but extraordinary style. Chamber wind meets a metallic pulse somewhere between dembow and Yemeni folk to underline his achingly hoarse vocals on ‘The Rabid Position’, while the lurking vox of ’Say No’ smartly reaffirms his counter-cultural cache, and the queered ambience of ‘Homecoming’ sees him slip into a sort of curdled tribal reverie.

On the other hand, the B-side dwells in a starker, more intimate half light, with songs stripped to a spectral quintessence between the petal-fall keys and prickly sax of ‘Foreplay’, a face freezing, ASMR-triggering beauty titled ‘Frenzy’ (featuring synth and mixing from Eiko Ishibashi), and an unmissable, abyss-hovering vision ‘Resolve’, and pooling into the miasmic folk strings and stygian glyde of ‘The Beautiful Attempt.’

Text from Boomkat


Weight 0,25 kg
Dimensions 32 × 32 × 0,3 cm

You may also like…

Shopping Cart