20Hz – Sprawl CD

15,00 (Outside EU: 12,00)

Electronica & synth from 20Hz via 20Hz (audio sampler from digital source, 1 min from each song)


Availability: In stock

SKU: Hz003 Category: Tags: , , ,

Artist: 20Hz
Title: Sprawl
Format: CD

Label: 20Hz
Cat nr: HZ003
Genre: Electronica/Synth/Synth-pop

1. Fragments 04:52
2. Travel with waves 04:16
3. Exit North 04:42
4. Through the clouds 03:12
5. Columbia 04:25
6. The heart of the city 04:42
7. Lakeside 05:32
8. Empty apartment 03:39
9. Sanatorium 03:50
10. Exit South 04:19
11. Golden hearts 04:50
12. Press Play 02:14

Sprawl is the third album by 20Hz. The music navigates the borderlands between melancholic ambient, electronic pop, and film score. Electronic soundscapes blend with pulsating rhythms, field recordings, and barely audible voices as if from a radio in a nearby room. Most tracks on the album are instrumental, but a few are enhanced by guest vocalists, and several of Swedens most recognized musicians within the alternative electronic scene contribute to several of the tracks.

The concept behind Sprawl was to create a soundtrack for a non-existent film set in a not so far future where people live in cities the size of countries. The songs describe feelings of being alone amidst millions of people and experiencing a sense of not fitting in. There’s a feeling that something isn’t quite right, and that ones humanity and relationships are eroded by the gray, endlessly repetitive everyday life. Yet, there’s also a glimmer of hope and a longing that there must be something more than the city’s neon-lit skyscrapers and its rain-soaked black streets, that there’s a different, better life outside the city walls.

Written, produced, and performed by Erik Ångman.

Additional contributors:
Karin My, cellos on ”Exit North” and ”Exit South”.
Karl Gasleben, synthesizers, arrangements on ”Lakeside”.
Arielle Andersson, vocals/lyrics on “Travel with waves”.
Fredrik Lundvall Kindsäter, synthesizers on “Travel with waves”.
Rikard Lindh, guitars on “Columbia”
Per-Ivar Östmann, vocals on ”Golden hearts”.

Mix and master by Hans Olsson at Svenska Grammofonstudion.

Photography by Karin My

Weight 0,08 kg
Dimensions 14 × 14 × 1 cm

You may also like…

Shopping Cart